The best of 2011

After years of wandering the hills and writing somewhat inarticulately about the joys they bring I realised that I needed to do something more to communicate my passion for the outdoors. With various compacts I had taken a handful of half decent shots and in doing so realised that I had an eye for landscape photography. This ‘eye’ I attribute not to any particular talent, but to the fact that I have a genuine love and respect for my subject matter. That, coupled with a burning desire to show others the wonders of our natural heritage gave me a good platform to build on.

So, this time last year in paroxysms of excitement and anticipation I received my Canon G12 and set out on a mission to become a ‘Photographer’ rather than someone who just takes snaps to record their days out. It’s been a hell of a learning curve and I have worked very hard, weaning myself away from automatic mode and teaching myself the technicalities of photography. Throughout these past 12 months I have felt every conceivable emotion from despondence to joy bordering on exaltation and at times have experienced an excitement which was difficult to contain.

I’ve learnt a lot and have much, much more to learn and will do so in an obsessive fever that my long suffering better half has done well to tolerate; she really does deserve a medal at times! One of the most important lessons I have learned is that if you want to get good images then you have to go after them; trusting to luck will often leave you empty handed and kicking yourself that you chose to do the washing up instead of going awol at the merest hint of good light…I’m glad I learnt that one early and apologise to Lucie for neglecting my duties more often than is probably reasonable.

As things stand it is the 19th of December and if it stops raining there may be more images to add to this post, but for now, here is a selection of my favourite shots from 2011, a greatest hits if you like…I’d really love it if some of them resonate with you and if they do I’ll know I’m on the right track. They’re roughly in chronological order to illustrate my progress so far and you can click on any of the images for a larger version.

I hope you all have a great Christmas and a healthy and prosperous 2012,

Nick

Wales New Year 2011 024

Lucie on Banana Gully

Cairngorms Jan 2011 140

Battling through the spindrift en route to Cairngorm

The Northern Corries from Loch Morlich

Cairngorms Jan 2011 231

Rockingham Sunset

Stanage Walk Feb 2011 085

Stanage Walk Feb 2011 091

Stanage Walk Feb 2011 097

A brief illumination of Stanage Plantation

Capel Curig, Llynau Mymbyr and the Snowdon range from Clogwyn Mawr

The Snowdon Massif

Tryfan and the Ogwen Valley from Crimpiau

Helvellyn and Blencathra 201

Morning Mist - Scales Fell

Helvellyn and Blencathra 026

Helvellyn and Blencathra 157

Helvellyn and Blencathra 050

The Solway Firth and Scotland from Dollywagon Pike

Helvellyn and Blencathra 077

Lucie on Sharp Edge

Helvellyn and Blencathra 021

Helvellyn panorama

Scramblers on Sharp Edge

Helvellyn and Blencathra 248

Helvellyn and Blencathra 254

Three trees

Three trees

Siblings

An evening solo on Beacon Hill

dovestone tor 058

dovestone tor 111

dovestone tor 042

Cwellyn reflections

Climbers on 'Ordinary Route' - Craig Cwm Silyn

High Crag from the summit of Haystacks

Dow Crag

Dow, Langdale, Winnats 228

Wast Water

Lingmell tree

The Welland Valley from Rockingham Hill

Welland Viaduct from Seaton

Rockingham dusk

Untitled_Panoramalarge1

Scrambling on Bristly Ridge

Castell y Gwynt

Elidir Fawr from Moel y Ci

Light falls on cymric badlands from Crimpiau

Rhaeadr Aber

Moel Siabod

Scrambling on Cnicht

Scots Pine above Nantmor

Tryfan

The summit of Cnicht

Moel Siabod from Ysgafell Wen

Cnicht's eastern top

Morning light in Nant Ffrancon

High above Sprinkling Tarn

Skiddaw sunbeams

Skiddaw from Skiddaw Little Man

Trunks in the bracken

Old John

Time for a snack

Trunks

Sheep - Peakland

Peakland Light

Peakland Paradise

Heron Pike and Windermere

Dr Bob on Fairfield

Looking to the Fairfield Horseshoe from Heron Pike

Woodland

Bradgate Birdie

Alone in the woods

Path

The Plantation

Decisions decisions

Rockingham Castle

Beast

Pen yr Helgi Du

Looking to Cnicht, Nant Gwynant and a cloud capped Y Lliwedd

Moel Cynghorion from Moel y Ci

Llyn Ogwen at dusk

Across Pen y Bwlch from Moel y Ci

Looking to Laddow from Crowden Great Brook

~ by nicklivesey on December 19, 2011.

3 Responses to “The best of 2011”

  1. Superb shots Nick, amazing views!

  2. Thanks Les, I really appreciate it…especially from a photographer of your ability and standing 🙂

  3. Most enjoyable stuff, brings back so many good memories (or offers tantalising glimpses of places yet to be visited).

Leave a Reply

 
