Chasing the light fantastic

Ridge - Elidir Fawr
On Saturday morning I awoke to what appeared to be several hundred men throwing buckets of water against the windows of our club hut in Mynydd Llandegai. Not, you will agree a promising start to a photographer’s day!

However, the weather man had promised me that come the afternoon it would stop raining so I stuck my head in a good book (Gordon Stainforth’s ‘Eyes to the hills’ if you were wondering) and bided my time.
Come midday a chink of light fell upon the hills so I grabbed my sack and went for a mooch around Penrhyn Quarry where I was treated to some reasonable light.
Solitary

To steal a mountain - Penrhyn Quarry

Yr Elen
I was happy enough and would have left it at that but something told me that there were greater prizes to be won if I headed high for the golden hour…I wasn’t wrong.

On the frigid summit of Elidir Fawr I shivered and shook while being gifted with some of the best light I’ve ever seen. I came down in the dark ecstatic; it had been a good days ‘work’!
Elidir Fawr and Elidir Fach

Ogwen triptych from Elidir Fawr

Phantasmagoric light on the Snowdon Range

Evening fire on Y Glyderau

~ by nicklivesey on February 20, 2012.

9 Responses to “Chasing the light fantastic”

  1. Stunning pictures – a word often used but in this case spot on.

    How have I missed your blog?
    🙂

  2. you caught it brilliantly …outstanding photo’s

  3. Wonderful. That’s a whole mountain portfolio on one day. Great work getting up there and staying up there is what looks like a very cold day. Great seeing Snowdonia shown so dramatically.

Leave a Reply

 
