Hiraeth

Hiraeth
As I sit here looking out of my window in the lovely Welland Valley I see a landscape of rolling fields inhabited just now by sheep and lambs, woodland and bright yellow squares of rapeseed; I see the spires of three churches and Rockingham Castle which in some form or other has looked down on the valley for 900 years. A few minutes’ walk away is the River Welland, the willow plantation and a ridge of Jurassic limestone which I love to traverse morning, noon and night. It really is a special place and I consider myself very lucky to call it home.

However, if home really is where the heart lies then my journey must continue until every night my head comes to rest on a pillow in a house within sight of the mountains of Eryri. It’s where I belong and I know it. When there I feel like I belong and when away I yearn for the next time I am walking through the valleys, climbing the living rock or walking endless miles across the mountains. There is nowhere else that fills me with such longing, and there is a word for that longing…Hiraeth.

~ by nicklivesey on May 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
