Eryri – March 2013 – An Exceptional Week

Alpenglow - Pen yr Ole Wen, Tryfan and the Glyderau - Explored
My beloved Eryri, in the week running up to and incuding Easter weekend has been a mountain photographer’s paradise and as I write this I am exhausted after seven days of rabid activity.

It’s been a tough week, rest days have not been an option and I have endured some insufferably cold vigils alone on the tops, often in difficult conditions. The snow and ice has been incredibly variable in quality and I have had to call on years of mountaineering experience to stay safe, especially when descending at the end of the day in fading light while very tired.

I never fully feel that I do Eryri justice in my work and in reviewing the last week I haven’t changed my opinion. However, I’ve done the best I can for now, but I’m driven to work harder and capture even better images.

So here it is, a remarkable week…
Iceflow Ogwen - Explored

 

 

 

A lonely place

 

 

 

Drifter - Elidir Fawr - Explored

 

 

 

The night comes down

 

 

 

Ogwen - Explored

 

 

 

Eifionydd - Early evening on Elidir Fawr

 

 

 

The Snowdon range from Carreg Hylldrem - Explored

 

 

 

Marchlyn Mawr

 

 

 

Cairn of the Greyhound Bitch

 

 

 

Extravaganza Crepuscular - Explored

 

 

 

Elements - Elidir Fach

 

 

 

Alpine Wales - Tryfan

 

 

 

Golau Cymraeg - Welsh Light

~ by nicklivesey on April 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
