A Home in Eryri – The First Two Months

A significant landscape - Carnedd y Filiast and Elidir Fawr - Explored
Two months ago I left behind the love of my life, my home, my job, friends, family and everything I knew to make a new life in Snowdonia. To say it’s been difficult would be a massive understatement and even now I am struggling to come to terms with the changes I have had to face. Each day is a battle with inexpressible feelings of loss, loneliness and regret, but I live in hope that maybe tomorrow will be the day I awake to find the pain has eased a little, from an all-consuming ache to a dull throb. As it is, I am still in shock and a sickening emptiness gnaws away at me from dawn till dusk.

To have thrown myself into my work would maybe have provided some comfort, but with summer upon us, good shots are increasingly hard to come by. Periods of none stop rain followed by hazy, blue sky days have left me at times frustrated and at others uninspired. If all this really had to happen then why couldn’t it have happened in autumn?

And then there are the ghosts…every mountain I look upon tells a tale of carefree days filled with joy and togetherness; days so perfect that if the world had been due to end we couldn’t have cared less.

So here I am, lost and alone in paradise and wishing the summer away as if it was an eternity in purgatory. I long for shorter days, crisp mornings, mountains burnished in golden afternoon light and most of all, to roam those hills and climb the crags again with the person who once made me whole. Those were the best days, the happiest I have ever known. Now, only memories remain.

I’m told that many of the images I have gathered in the last two months have an air of sadness and melancholy about them. Could that be possible? If so then then I have done a good job, for expressing emotion through the camera is what every landscape photographer should be trying to achieve.

With that in mind, I’ll leave it there for you to decide…

Images of Eryri – May – July 2013

Puffin Island

 

 

 

 

Light on the Lleyn

 

 

 

 

Nothing lasts forever

 

 

 

 

The birth of a brand new day - The Snowdon Horseshoe

 

 

 

 

Blue Hour - The Seiont - Caernarfon

 

 

 

 

Purple Rain - Penmon

 

 

 

 

Yr Wyddfa - The Monach of Wales

 

 

 

 

New Beginnings

 

 

 

 

Waiting - Llyn Peris

 

 

 

 

1min 30sec - Coed Aberdunant

 

 

 

 

Swept Away - The Afon Glaslyn

 

 

 

 

The Summit - Moel Ddu

 

 

 

 

Sway - Moel y Gest from Morfa Bychan

 

 

 

 

The Rhinogydd from Black Rock Sands

 

 

 

 

The heart of Eryri - Looking towards home from Y Cob

 

 

 

 

A Snowdonian Mountainside

 

 

 

 

Rhinogydd Moonrise

 

 

 

 

A golden bed of heather - The Carneddau from Moel y Ci

 

 

 

 

The test of time - Explored

 

 

 

 

Tranquility - Explored

 

 

 

 

Ogwen Dusk

 

 

 

 

A Misty Mymbyr Morning - Explored

 

 

 

 

Stormy Weather - Llynau Mymbyr

 

 

 

 

The land of the Dragon - Explored

 

 

 

 

Mymbyr Calm

 

 

 

 

Pterodactyl Country

 

 

 

 

Nell

 

 

 

 

Welsh Summer - Capel Curig and Dyffryn Mymbyr from Clogwyn Mawr

 

 

 

 

Touched by light - Moel Siabod

 

 

 

 

Home...Bryn Tyrch Farm

 

 

 

 

False Dawn

 

 

 

 

Cloudcap - Pen yr Ole Wen

 

 

 

 

Alone in paradise

 

 

 

 

Wishing I was there

 

 

 

 

The Vivid Vale

 

 

 

 

The Road Home

 

 

 

 

Better shared

 

 

 

 

Mynyddoedd - The Carneddau to Elidir Fawr

~ by nicklivesey on July 10, 2013.

4 Responses to “A Home in Eryri – The First Two Months”

  1. Absolutely stunning, gorgeous and evocative photos! So pleased I came across your blog and signed up for posts! Thank you

  2. Nick
    The photography is exquisite. I guess there is a certain bleakness in this unpeopled landscape but that is the way Eryri is.
    I do hope you find that which makes you happy and fulfilled with just the right amount of the right female company.
    Thanks for keeping up the blog and showing your work.
    Fredcam

  3. I’m blown away by the light in many of your lush mountain images. They bring back memories of happy summers in Nant Ffrancon, staying with the Woodford Family (David Woodford is an incredible artist – you might like his work). Very tempted to paint from some of your images – if I do I’ll let you know. Aside from that, hope you find lots of healing soon from the pain and loss and I totally empathise. Janine

  4. Superb collection nick

Leave a Reply

 
