Rejoice – The death of Summer

Take me home
We had a period here in Snowdonia recently of what many people would call good weather. Oh how I cursed as day after day I arose to cloudless skies and mountains faint through a maddening blue haze. Wonderful conditions for driving around, lakeside picnics or evening rock climbing on North facing crags. For me it was a miserable time which thankfully looks to have faded into obscurity. The best summer in years they called it.
Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t like getting soaked any more than the next person but for heaven’s sake, the mountains are no better in a heat wave than they are in a deluge; in fact, they may even be worse…at least from a photographer’s point of view.
What attracted me to the mountains in the first place is the very same thing that I now try to capture with my camera; atmosphere, mystery and drama, things that stir the imagination and reawaken my senses. I want swirling clouds and valleys illuminated as if by aerial spotlights which sweep across the land; fleeting moments which have to be seen to be believed.

I’m happy to report that things are looking up as the weather improves. Gone are the ‘biscuit tin’ scenes of green and blue. They’ve been replaced by unpredictable and startling changes. This is when the seeker of light becomes a hunter, stalking, waiting, sometimes coming home hungry until at last they find themselves in the right place at the right time and feast on their prey.
A clumsy analogy perhaps, but summer is on its last legs, the famine is nearly over and the feast awaits…
In the lap of the gods - Dyffryn Mymbyr from the Capel Curig Pinnacles

~ by nicklivesey on August 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
